• Saphira (CB/WB)
Netherlands: Repertorium 4e Divisie Harmonie

SAPHIRA – 3 episodes from the life of a dragon
(based on a novel by Christopher Paolini)
“When I was first approached by the Musical Board of the Bernese Cantonal Music Association (BCMA) with a commission for a composition in view of the music festival 2009 of the canton of Berne, the subject of my work almost instantly took form in my mind. Some time earlier, I had read the novel “Eragon” and had since been fascinated by the world young author Christopher Paolini had carried me off to. As a composer, the written word often sounds like music in my head. Therefore, it seemed logical to me to transcribe this piece of music for the dragon in the story “Saphira” and arrange it for a concert band. The end result is purely program music. The three movements of “Saphira” illustrate musically and in a subjective way several scenes taken from the novel “Eragon” by Christopher Paolini. The first movement “Largo: The egg in the enchanted forest” depicts how young Eragon, the story’s main human character, finds a shining blue stone while on a walk in the forest. Later on, the stone reveals itself to be in fact a dragon’s egg. The main musical theme – namely “Saphira’s” Theme - appears here for the first time. Starting with the muted solo trumpet, it is subsequently intonated by the flutes, the piccolo, the clarinets, the oboe, the bassoon, the baritone and eventually by a solo flute. In a relentlessly growing ostinato, the secret base of the resistance fighting against the tyrant Galbatorix is attacked by imperial forces. The second movement “Allegro: Imperial assault” reflects this confrontation musically: on top of the ostinato, two musical themes (“the good” vs “the bad”) are opposing each other. As the conflict evolves, it seems more and more that it will lead to victory for the empire. Yet, to begin with, the french horns hesitatingly intonate and, like in an act of supreme power after the culminating point of battle, the trombones start playing the main theme (“Saphira”) and thus herald victory for Eragon and his fellow freedom fighters. It is however in the third movement “Allegro Vivace: Flight on Saphira”, that the musical theme for Saphira can finally spread its musical wings. It is performed in its entirety and accompanies Eragon on his flight on Saphira’s back. Together they soar above the landscapes of Alagaesia. Victory has been achieved – freedom is theirs.”
Dany Nussbaumer, January 2009
Publication details:
Title Saphira
Subtitle Three Episodes From The Life Of A Dragon
Composer Dany Nussbaumer
Instrumentation Concert Band/Wind Band
Duration 8.00
Difficulty Easy
Countries availability
Not available in Germany, United Kingdom

There are no reviews for this product.

Write a review

Please login or register to review

Saphira (CB/WB)

  • Composer: Dany Nussbaumer
  • Title: Saphira
  • Availability: In Stock
  • Instrumentation :Concert Band/Wind Band
  • Duration :8.00
  • Difficulty :Easy
PDF samplescore :
  • € 172.50