• Concertino For Euphonium (BB)

Concertino for Euphonium
Hendrik de Boer
a compact three-movement solo work (fast-slow-fast) for euphonium and Brass Band or piano.
Principles for me while composing, were some moments which have been a major influence on my development as a musician.
-The first rapid technical movement is based on memories of my student days with Ane Travaille at the Prince Claus Conservatory in Groningen. Typical for this part are the many changes of key, which is a nod to the many exercises, etudes and concert pieces which have been reviewed during my studies.
-The slow expressive second movement is a musical representation of the major role that Frans-Aert Burghgraef played in my development as a musician.
He did not only tremendously encourage the euphonium playing but also my composing and arranging. Characteristic for this part is the quiet 12/8 time signature, which portrays his confidence. The inspiring appassionato represents his passion for music.
-The third movement is a rapid virtuoso "ode" to all the "examples" that are contributory to my love for the euphonium. Not only listening to recordings from Steven Mead, David Childs, Glyn Williams and Jukka Myllys has been very stimulating, but also the master-classes that I followed with them and the conversations that I was allowed to hold with them, were very inspiring.
Typical for this final section are the virtuoso passages in which the technical possibilities of the instrument fully come into their own. The ending of this movement is written in 'major' and portrays the trust that I have in the new generation of rising euphonium stars such as Glenn van Looy, Matthew White and Robbert Vos, who will inspire me without any doubt hugely in the coming years!

Drachten, June 2015
Hendrik de Boer

Publication details:
Title Concertino For Euphonium
Composer Hendrik de Boer
Instrumentation Brass Band
Duration 10.45
Difficulty Difficult/Very Difficult

There are no reviews for this product.

Write a review

Please login or register to review

Concertino For Euphonium (BB)

  • Composer: Hendrik de Boer
  • Title: Concertino For Euphonium
  • Availability: In Stock
  • Instrumentation :Brass Band
  • Duration :10.45
  • Difficulty :Difficult/Very Difficult
PDF Sample Solopart :
PDF Sample Score :
  • € 76.50

Available Options

Related Products